Our organization provides certification for vegetarian and vegan products and vegan friendly restaurants.
Certification can be applied by companies that manufacture vegetarian or vegan products, and by restaurants that offer vegan options in their menu.
The objective of our organization is to create an environment where vegetarian and vegan options are readily available.
We perform vegetarian/vegan certification with this objective.
There are 3 marks as below.
【For Food and Beverage Products】
・VEGAN ヴィーガン Mark：
This mark can be applied for any product that contains no meat, seafood (fish or shellfish), milk, eggs, honey, or derivatives from any of these.
・VEGETARIAN ベジタリアン -NO MEAT NO FISH- Mark：
This mark can be applied for any product that contains no meat, seafood (fish or shellfish), or derivatives from these.
・VEGAN ヴィーガン ベジタリアン対応 Mark：
* Please read the detail about “VegeProject Vegetarian and Vegan Standards” at the lower part of the page.
Please feel free to contact us
if you are interested in applying for our certificate or any questions via email (firstname.lastname@example.org).
Why we think certification matters:
☑ It ensures the customers that the product they are buying is free from animal products.
☑By providing an easily recognizable mark, the customer can find these products easily.
☑ We provide an opportunity for customers to learn about the vegetarian and vegan lifestyle.
Merits of using our vegetarian or vegan mark:
☑ Customer acquisition
The demand for vegetarian and vegan products is on the rise. Vegetarian and vegan products are very popular among foreign travelers, and interest on these products is also growing nationally.
In the case of restaurants, stores that offer vegetarian or vegan options tend to attract not only vegetarians, but also groups of friends, families or business partners where one of the members is vegetarian.
☑ CSR and Branding
Vegetarian and vegan products are not only good for health, but also make an important contribution to food sustainability, environmental protection and animal welfare. Offering vegetarian and vegan options is a great opportunity for a press release, and a contribution to the branding of your company.
VegeProject will talk the products and restaurants that have received a vegan certificate on the social media, VegeMap, and our news website VegeTime, reaching the vegetarian and vegan community directly.
VegeProject Vegetarian and Vegan Standards
Vegetarian：we define “vegetarian” as containing no meat, fish or seafood, and any other kind of animal flesh, or any product derived of these.
In regards to fried products, vegetarian products are fried in vegetable oil that has not been used to fry meat, fish or any other kind of animal flesh.
Companies offering vegetarian products under our certification must specify to the customer the possibility of cross-contamination on their package, menu, or official website in the case that the certified product is elaborated in the same production line or with the same utensils that have been used in the manufacture of non-vegetarian products.
This definition of “vegetarian” is exclusive to our Vegetarian/Vegan Certificate, and may differ from that of other organizations.
・Vegan: we define “vegan” as containing no meat, fish or seafood, and any other kind of animal flesh, as well as milk, eggs, honey, or any product derived of all the before mentioned.
In regards to fried products, vegan products are fried in vegetable oil that has not been used to fry meat, fish or any other kind of animal flesh.
As for alcoholic beverages, products using animal-derived substances in the clarifying or fining process, products containing sugar in the ingredient list that has been filtered or clarified using bone char, and products that have involved animal testing in their developmental process cannot be certified.
Companies offering vegan products under our certification must specify to the customer the possibility of cross-contamination on their package, menu, or official website in the case that the certified product is elaborated in the same production line or with the same utensils that have been used in the manufacture of non-vegan products.
This definition of “vegan” is exclusive to our Vegetarian/Vegan Certificate, and may differ from that of other organizations.
＊VegeProject certifies whether the product is vegan or vegetarian, but is not concerned with food allergies. For the detail information about allergen, please ask the producers and restaurants.
＊VegeProject will check the products and restaurants regularly and conserves the right to withdraw the vegetarian/vegan certificate in the case any ingredient that does not fall under the vegetarian (in the case of “vegetarian certification”) or the vegan (in the case of “vegan certification”) definition provided in the “VegeProject Vegetarian and Vegan Standards” described below is added to the ingredients of the certified product, or in case our organization has a reason to judge the product is not appropriate for the vegetarian/vegan certificate. If needed, our organization will require your company to provide further details regarding your product. Our staff may have to visit your company and factory to corroborate whether the information provided is trustworthy.
Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions via email (email@example.com).